2015: Best 5 Read Books Continues

After a year of skipping this tradition, I promised myself to DO it this time. Even though I didn’t meet my book goal for the year, I am still happy to share to you my list.

2015.book

 

#5  The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni

“Not finance. Not strategy. Not technology. It is teamwork that remains the ultimate competitive advantage, both because it is so powerful and so rare.”

This book teaches a great deal about teamwork and leadership. I am glad to have read this in preparation for my next years’ goal.If you are a part of any team, i recommend to read it and if not apply all the principles at least remember and took heart the things that really matter to make your team, a great team.

#4 Outliers by Malcom Gladwell

“Do you see the consequences of the way we have chosen to think about success? Because we so profoundly personalize success, we miss opportunities to lift others onto the top rung…We are too much in awe of those who succeed and far too dismissive of those who fail. And most of all, we become much too passive. We overlook just how large a role we all play—and by “we” I mean society—in determining who makes it and who doesn’t.”

I am glad to have read more non-fictional books this year because I gained a lot of insights of what reality is. It is true that success cannot be achieved overnight and you can never do it alone. You need people, preparation and tons of hard work. It is said in the book that it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill, so I guess I have a lot of work to do to be able to meet my own definition of success.

# 3 And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

” I suspect the truth is that we are waiting, all of us against insurmountable odds, for something extraordinary to happen to us”

Another heartbreaking book by Khaled. I’ve always been a fan of history and Khaled is one of those who can write it vividly, adding strong characters make it a page turner book. From betrayal, sacrifice, poverty, liberty – this book explores the many ways in which families work.

#2 The Good and Beautiful God by James Bryan Smith

“Spiritual life is not a life of laws and precepts but a life of participation, affection and love, a life mingled and mixing with God.”

It changed the way I think about God.I didn’t know I have lots of false narratives about God until I read this book.It helped me a lot in renewing my mind and put on the new narratives and perception about Him.
If you want to get deeper with your relationship and know Him better read this book.

#1 The Martian – Andy Weir

“If a hiker gets lost in the mountains, people will coordinate a search. If a train crashes, people will line up to give blood. If an earthquake levels a city, people all over the world will send emergency supplies. This is so fundamentally human that it’s found in every culture without exception. Yes, there are assholes who just don’t care, but they’re massively outnumbered by the people who do.”

A Genius creation! I love how this story is about survival and science.
It’s like a science book narrating its own story and explaining explicitly how certain theories work through applications.

Leave a Reply

